Good Call? #1

I wanted to start this new series to look at an individual category at one of the big Awards shows (Grammys, Oscars etc) and decide if they made a good call in picking the nominees and the winner in that category.

So, I thought I’d start with the Grammys and the Rap Song of the Year Category in 2023. I’ll go back in time then on this category in future posts and maybe cover some additional categories in future to.

Grammys 2023: Rap Song of the Year Nominees:

Churchill Downs- Jack Harlow ft Drake,

God Did- DJ Khaled ft Rick Ross, Lil Wayne, Jay-Z, John Legend and Fridayy,

Pushin P- Gunna and Future ft Young Thug

Wait for U- Future ft Drake and Tems.

Winner: The Heart Part 5- Kendrick Lamar

The best thing about this list is the winner is 100% correct. The Heart Part 5 is the best song here by some distance and honestly would probably be my pick for Rap Song of the Year in 2022. I like Wait for U and Pushin P a lot too, so I would keep them. God Did is one of the most boring rap songs out there, it’s 8 minutes long and feels every second of it. I honestly don’t hate DJ Khaled as much as some do, but this can’t be considered one of the best rap songs of the year. Similar with Churchill Downs, I think Jack Harlow is a talented guy but I much preferred Nail Tech from this album and even that wouldn’t be considered one of the best rap songs of the year.

To replace those I would go with any of these songs: Jimmy Cooks- Drake ft 21 Savage, Walkin- Denzel Curry, Surround Sound- JID ft Baby Tate and 21 Savage, Rock N Roll- Pusha T ft Kanye West and Kid Cudi (or Dreamin of the Past from that album too), Johnny’s P Caddy- Benny the Butcher ft J Cole, even Vegas- Doja Cat.

Leave a comment