Top 10 Best Films of the Year: 2022

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! List season! So, it’s time for me to look back on the year in cinema. Starting with the best of the year. 2022 saw the UK finally free of the Covid pandemic closures for a full year so there was nothing stopping me from seeing lots of films. And on the whole films were good. It was again a lot easier to come up with the top 10 than the bottom 10, but I would say there were not as many great films in 2022 as some years and some films that everyone went crazy for, I didn’t quite have the same reaction. BUT, there’s still lots to be positive about, so let’s get into it.

First a reminder of my top five from June of this year: 5. Boiling Point, 4. Nightmare Alley, 3. The Northman, 2. The Batman, 1. Top Gun: Maverick.

10. Everything, Everywhere, All at Once (cinema release- now on Amazon Prime)- This is my controversial pick as for many people this is there undisputed number 1. For me I like it a lot, but I just didn’t connect with it the same way lots of people did. I think maybe it comes from the sheer amount of praise it has got, with some people going crazy for this and often acting in a very obnoxious way. But, it is still on the list and I did enjoy it. Honourable Mentions to The Menu, which was a lot of fun and Avatar: The Way of Water which had some of the most visually amazing and tense action of the year.

9. Violent Night (cinema release)- Really funny and inventive. Will definitely be checking this out again in future at Christmas time as I had a lot of fun.

8. Red Rocket (cinema release- now on NOW TV)- A film that just missed out on the top 5 in June, but has been in the back of my mind ever since I first watched it. I think the world and the characters within the world this film creates are just really immersive. One of the most unique films of the year with a brilliant central performance.

7. The Banshees of Inisherin (cinema release- now on Disney+)- I’ve been a big fan of Martin McDonagh’s work and this has his trademark excellent dialogue all over it. The central performances by Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson are both amazing and I hope they get the Oscar recognition they deserved for In Bruges.

6. Boiling Point (cinema release- now on Netflix)- If you have ever worked in a restaurant or a bar or any kind of service industry definitely watch this. And even if you haven’t the adrenaline this film will give you is worth seeking it out. Apparently they are developing a TV show based on this, which I would definitely seek out.

5. Nightmare Alley (cinema release- now on Disney+)- Another film where the world created really sells this film. I love Guillermo Del Toro and I do feel like this one was definitely a bit underrated and if you haven’t already, I recommend seeking it out.

4. The Northman (cinema release- now on NOW TV)- I really hope Robert Eggers is given the platform to go on and make more films like this as action spectacle that doesn’t shy away from brutality and getting weird at times is great to see and I hope we get to see more of it.

3. The Batman (cinema release- now on NOW TV)- The best superhero film of the year by some distance with Marvel disappointing pretty much all year, The Batman was exactly what I’d hoped for and more. Now, give us some more interesting villains in the next one (not just Joker again!).

2. Bodies, Bodies, Bodies (cinema release)- The most fun I had at the cinema this year. Really funny, well written, well acted and really well shot too. Not going to be for everyone, but I really enjoyed it and would highly recommend.

1 Top Gun: Maverick (cinema release- now on Paramount+)- I asked if it was recency bias putting this as top in June, but six months later it still hasn’t been dethroned. Top Gun: Maverick is really simple and really effective. It has amazing action, good characters and it doesn’t go on for way too long. And hey I’m not the only person who enjoyed it so much, its the highest grossing film of the year (by some distance) and the highest grossing of Tom Cruise’s career.

TV Highlights

I think for best TV shows I watched this year I have to say The Boys Season 3 which was great and House of the Dragon which was a great start and I’m really looking forward to where they go next.

Worst list coming soon and for the first time I’m also doing a separate round up for the year’s music also coming soon!

Leave a comment