Cinema Review #172: Top Gun: Maverick (2022)

Top Gun: Maverick is the long awaited sequel to the classic 1985 film. It again stars Tom Cruise as Pete ‘Maverick’ Mitchell, who is joined this time by Jennifer Connelly as his love interest and Miles Teller as Goose’s son, Rooster. This time the film is directed by Joseph Kosinski (who made the classic Tron: Legacy).

Top Gun: Maverick has been getting rave reviews and I completely understand why. I think it takes what works about the original and really builds on it. I think the plane effects are awesome and although its a cliche, I really do advise seeing this on the biggest screen you can. You can really tell Tom Cruise has a passion for bringing this epic adventure to the screen.

The film has a very simple story but it really works as the story works in service of the amazing action and some nice character beats. It also feels distinct to the original, whilst also paying respect. I was concerned it would be a nostalgia fest, but it actually does a really effective balancing act of being reverential, but not alienating people born since 1985 who may not have seen the original. I did watch the original in preparation for this and if you can I would recommend it, but you could absolutely enjoy this without having seen it (although it will spoil a few things if you then wanted to go back and watch the first!).

Overall, I really enjoyed it and definitely recommend a trip to the cinema to watch it. 4 Stars.

*Sorry this took a while, I actually saw this opening night, I’ve just been super busy. New Albert’s Broken Record will be coming soon too!

Leave a comment