Cinema Review #169: Dr Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (2022)

Dr Strange in the Multiverse of Madness is the newest film in the MCU and a sequel to the last Dr Strange film again starring Benedict Cumberbatch, Rachel McAdams and Benedict Wong, but this time joined by Xochitl Gomez as America Chavez and Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff/ Scarlett Witch. This film is also directed by Sam Raimi.

There’s been a lot of hype attached to this film ever since Spiderman came out and I feel like I’ve seen rumours about every Marvel character ever making a cameo in this film. I won’t spoil anything about cameos, but there are some and if you can avoid spoilers, its definitely worth it.

I liked this one quite a bit. I’ve heard some people say you can’t see the Raimi influence, but I saw plenty of his mark on the film, particularly from his horror roots. Much like the last film, I enjoyed the magic fight sequences and the multiverse addition makes this again entertaining.

I think there’s some good character work too, I like Dr Strange and Wanda’s arcs in the film and I enjoyed the new characters.

So, I would recommend Dr Strange in the Multiverse of Madness. I enjoyed it a similar level to the first one, in that it is a good entry into the MCU, not top tier, but still strong. 3.5 Stars.

Leave a comment