Cinema Review #151: Nightmare Alley (2022)

Nightmare Alley is the new film from Guillermo Del Toro and stars Bradley Cooper, Rooney Mara, Cate Blanchett and Willem Dafoe.

I really enjoyed this one. I’ve enjoyed a lot of Del Toro’s work. I think he’s one of those directors where if you just don’t like his style, you probably won’t enjoy any of his films. But for me, I love the worlds he creates. And the world of the circus created here is really immersive and just visually a treat to watch. Its why its such a shame we never got to see the Del Toro version of The Hobbit.

I thought all the performances were really good. Bradley Cooper did a really good job in the central role. Interestingly Leonardo DiCaprio was supposed to play the main role, but had to drop out, but the film doesn’t feel worse without him, Cooper does a fine job. He could have got a Best Actor nod, I’m honestly surprised all the Buzz was for his supporting role in Licorice Pizza (which he’s in for about 10 minutes tops). I also liked the supporting players like Willem Dafoe and Toni Collette (of course, they’re both always great!). Wouldn’t have been disappointed to see a Guillermo Best Director nod too, but at least he already has one.

The film is long, potentially a bit too long, but not so it took away from the experience for me. I don’t want to spoil anything but the film has a very satisfying ending, which I really liked.

Overall, I definitely recommend Nightmare Alley. It’s got a Best Picture nomination, but won’t win, but honestly its better than a lot of the nominees, even the ones more tipped to do better (cough*Belfast). Definitely worth checking out. 4 Stars.

Leave a comment