Cinema Review #148: Moonfall (2022)

Moonfall is the new film from Roland Emmerich (The Day After Tomorrow, 2012) and stars Patrick Wilson, Halle Berry and John Bradley. It tells the story of what happens when the moon starts to fall towards Earth.

Now, I’m a big fan of the work of Roland Emmerich. Not because I think it’s good necessarily but it is always entertaining. And the man never holds back on spectacle. For me he’s like Michael Bay, but with a sense of humour (and he’s significantly better than Bay just to be clear).

Moonfall is not good, but I would be lying if I said I didn’t have a good time watching it. I saw it in an empty cinema with just me and my friend and we laughed all the way through. On a serious note about the film, I actually really liked John Bradley in it, he’s a megastructurist (drink every time they say that) and he’s just a very likeable presence on screen. The effects are also pretty impressive, especially considering the film didn’t have the backing of any major studio (although £150million was still spent on it from somewhere).

If my empty screen and the box office are anything to go by, Moonfall will almost certainly flop. But, it’s a shame really. So many big blockbusters have this all too knowing, nudge-wink manner to them, films like Hobbs and Shaw or any other film with the Rock in always have someone calling out the ridiculousness of the action. Its great to see a film that takes itself 100% seriously and just embraces the ridiculous nature of the story.

So, I definitely recommend a trip to see Moonfall. I’d rather see more films like this, than a thousand more Fast and Furious movies. It’s not good, but you’d be hard pressed not to have fun watching it. 2.5 Stars.

Leave a comment