Cinema Review #142: The King’s Man (2021)

The King’s Man is the latest film in the Kingsman franchise, but this time is a prequel set in the early 20th century at the founding of the Kingsman organisation. It stars Ralph Fiennes, Gemma Arteton, Djimon Hounsou and Harris Dickinson. It is again directed by Matthew Vaughn.

I was pleasantly surprised by this film. I really enjoyed the first Kingsman, its a really fun spy action movie, which some great set pieces and some genuinely surprising moments. The sequel (The Golden Circle), is one of the worst movies I’ve ever seen and someone did everything the first film did worse. So, I went into this film with trepidation, but I did enjoy it.

I really liked Ralph Fiennes as the main character and as someone who likes history, a lot of the historical antics were fun. It again had surprises which I liked. Although I hate to be that guy, but I did guess the identity of the villain ahead of the end reveal. I also liked the ending stuff on top of the mountain, I’m a sucker for climbing a mountain top set pieces.

So overall, I would recommend The King’s Man if you enjoyed the original (it’s not as good as that, but its a 1000% times better than the sequel) or if you enjoy action/spy thrillers and want to see the novelty of having that set in the past. 3.5 Stars.

Leave a comment