Cinema Review #129: Venom: Let There Be Carnage (2021)

Venom: Let There Be Carnage is the sequel to Venom and still stars Tom Hardy as Eddie Brock/Venom but this time is Directed by Andy Serkis and stars Woody Harrelson as Carnage.

I was not a big fan of Venom. I found it to be boring, poorly put together and not nearly as funny as it should be. Venom: Let There Be Carnage on the other hand is also not great, but it is better than the first. Woody Harrelson’s Carnage as the main villain is more interesting and entertaining to watch than Riz Ahmed’s villain from the previous film (much as I love Riz). The film is also only about 90 minutes long so it never outstays its welcome. I still don’t find the Venom stuff as funny as it should be really (and neither did the audience I saw it with really either). It’s basically the same joke over and over.

I feel like the thing most people talk about with this film is the Post-Credit (or Mid-Credit) Scene, which I won’t spoil, but isn’t as exciting as it’s billed really. It’s fine.

Overall Venom: Let There Be Carnage is fine. It reminds me of those 2000s superhero films like Daredevil or Ghost Rider, where nothing really happens in them and they’re not that great, but there are worse ways of spending 90 minutes. And I did get one or two laughs, just not enough to call it good. 2 Stars.

Leave a comment