Cinema Review #110: Mortal Kombat (2021)

Mortal Kombat is based on the video game franchise of the same name. It stars Lewis Tan, Jessica McNamee and Josh Lawson and is directed by Simon McQuoid.

I have not seen the previous films made about Mortal Kombat, but I have not heard good things about them. So, I didn’t have majorly high expectations going into this, but it was better than I could have expected.

The film is actually very violent which is enjoyable. I thought it would be like many video game movies and contain little violence, but there is violence and it is fun. Josh Lawson’s Kano is also a very entertaining character, who is easily the most fun part of the film.

That being said, the script is terrible and many of the performances are really wooden. I wouldn’t really recommend making a trip out to the cinema, as there are probably plenty of films that are more enjoyable. But for a Mortal Kombat movie it is better than I expected. 2.5 Stars.

Leave a comment