Oscars 2021 Predictions

In previous years I have done a predictions and my picks for the Oscars and last year I even came up with my nominations for the big categories. Last year I had seen all of the Best Picture nominees. This year for me that is impossible as several of the nominees haven’t been released in the UK yet. Of the others some are only available on rental, which I’m not paying that much for, just to rent it and the others are on Netflix and I just haven’t gotten around to it. Despite these constraints, using previous awards shows and some of my own opinion I will make predictions on every category and when I can (when I’ve seen at least one nominee), I will give my pick.

Best Visual Effects

Nominees: Love and Monsters, The Midnight Sky, Mulan, The One and Only Ivan, Tenet.

Prediction: Tenet

Personal Choice: Tenet

Tenet is the only one I have seen here and I think that could be similar with many Academy voters, so I think it has a good chance of taking this one. Anything but Mulan.

Best Film Editing

Nominees: The Father, Nomadland, Promising Young Woman, Sound of Metal, The Trial of the Chicago 7.

Prediction: The Trial of the Chicago 7

Personal Choice: Sound of Metal

This is a harder one to pick, but Trial of the Chicago 7 seems like the kind of film that would win this, based on what I’ve heard about it, but I’d be happy to see Sound of Metal take this home too. This category is notoriously hard to predict (Bohemian Rhapsody, anyone?).

Best Costume Design

Nominees: Emma, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Mank, Mulan, Pinocchio.

Prediction: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Personal Choice: N/A (Anything but Mulan)

Haven’t seen any of these, but Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom seems like a very costume heavy film. Mank is probably the biggest contender. Again, anything but Mulan for my choice.

Best Make up and Hairstyling

Nominees: Emma, Hillbilly Elegy, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Mank, Pinocchio.

Prediction: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Personal Choice: N/A

Again, haven’t seen this, but Ma Rainey seems like a good bet again. Has anyone actually seen Pinocchio?

Best Cinematography

Nominees: Judas and the Black Messiah, Mank, News of the World, Nomadland, The Trial of the Chicago 7.

Prediction: Nomadland

Personal Choice: N/A

This is a tougher one that’s between Mank and Nomadland, but from everything I’ve heard and any stills of Nomadland I’ve seen, it has a good chance of taking this award home.

Best Production Design

Nominees: The Father, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Mank, News of the World, Tenet.

Prediction: Mank

Personal Choice: N/A

I have only seen Tenet of these, but from everything I know about Mank and David Fincher, I’m sure the Production Design and its attention to period detail, will be excellent. Main contender here is Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, but I think despite all the nominations Mank’s best chance of a win is in this category.

Best Sound

Nominees: Greyhound, Mank, News of the World, Soul, Sound of Metal.

Prediction: Sound of Metal

Personal Choice: Sound of Metal

Mixing and Editing have been put together into one award this year. The clue is in the name for this one and Sound of Metal is a clear favourite her and deservedly so. The sound design is impeccable.

Best Original Song

Nominees: Fight for You – Judas and the Black Messiah, Hear My Voice- Trial of the Chicago 7, Husavik – Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga, Seen – The Life Ahead, Speak Now – One Night in Miami.

Prediction: Speak Now- One Night in Miami

Personal Choice: N/A

This can be a tough category to call and as far as I’m aware Husavik is the only song that is actually part of the film and not just played over the credits. Eurovision is the only one I’ve seen here, but Speak Now is sung by Leslie Odom Jr, who is also nominated for Best Supporting Actor, so I’ve gone with that.

Best Original Score

Nominees: Da 5 Bloods, Mank, Minari, News of the World, Soul.

Prediction: Soul

Personal Choice: Soul

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross are nominated for both Mank and Soul, so they have a good chance of winning something and I think Soul is the best choice as the music is so key to the story. I’d pick Soul as my prediction and personal choice.

Best Animated Short Film

Nominees: Burrow, Genius Loci, If Anything Happens I Love You, Opera, Yes-People.

Prediction: Burrow

Personal Choice: N/A

Burrow is from Disney/Pixar, so its the safe bet here, but If Anything Happens I Love You is from Netflix, so also has some backing, so is an outsider but I’ll still stick with Burrow as my prediction.

Best Live Action Short Film

Nominees: Feeling Through, The Letter Room, The Present, Two Distant Strangers, White Eye.

Prediction: Two Distant Strangers

Personal Choice: N/A

Two Distant Strangers deals with police brutality against African Americans, so is a strong contender here, given everything that has happened in the US. The Letter Room stars Oscar Isaac, so could have an outside chance, but I’m going with Two Distant Strangers.

Best Documentary Short Subject

Nominees: Colette, A Concerto is a Conversation, Do Not Split, Hunger Ward, A Love Song for Latasha.

Prediction: A Love Song For Latasha

Personal Choice: N/A

A Love Song for Latasha deals with themes of race and violence and has the backing of Netflix behind it, so I think it has a good chance. Although, this category is quite open and I have seen it called for almost any one of these nominees.

Best Documentary Feature

Nominees: Collective, Crip Camp, The Mole Agent, My Octopus Teacher, Time.

Prediction: My Octopus Teacher

Personal Choice: N/A

The eye catching title, the backing of Netflix and previous awards success makes My Octopus Teacher my choice here. Time also deals with the race in the US and has Amazon behind it, so has a chance, but I’m still going with My Octopus Teacher.

Best International Feature

Nominees: Another Round, Better Days, Collective, The Man Who Sold his Skin, Quo Vadis, Aida?

Prediction: Another Round

Personal Choice: N/A

Another Round is a film I really want to see, but isn’t available in the UK until June. Thomas Vinterberg’s nomination for Best Director means it has a good chance of taking home this award.

Best Animated Feature

Nominees: Onward, Over the Moon, A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon, Soul, Wolfwalkers.

Prediction: Soul

Personal Choice: Soul

I have seen both Soul and Onward in this category and will definitely go for Soul as both my prediction and choice. I also love Shaun the Sheep, so would be happy to see it win, but I can’t see it sadly.

Best Adapted Screenplay

Nominees: Borat Subsequent Moviefilm, The Father, Nomadland, One Night in Miami, The White Tiger.

Prediction: The Father

Personal Choice: Borat Subsequent Moviefilm.

This looks like a two horse race between The Father and Nomadland and with Nomadland set to do well in other categories, I’m going for The Father on this one. Borat 2 has an outside chance and I would love to see it win, but I’m going to stick with The Father.

Best Original Screenplay

Nominees: Judas and the Black Messiah, Minari, Promising Young Woman, Sound of Metal, The Trial of the Chicago 7.

Prediction: Promising Young Woman

Personal Choice: Sound of Metal

This looks like a battle between Emerald Fennell for Promising Young Woman and Aaron Sorkin for Trial of the Chicago 7, but I think Promising Young Woman will win here. I personally liked Sound of Metal a bit better, but I didn’t mind Promising Young Woman.

Best Supporting Actress

Nominees: Youn Yuh-Jung- Minari, Amanda Seyfried – Mank, Olivia Colman – The Father, Glenn Close – Hillbilly Elegy, Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm.

Prediction: Youn Yuh-Jung – Minari

Personal Choice: Maria Bakalova- Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Glenn Close is still searching for her first win after all those nominations, but not for this performance, which saw her also receive a Razzie nomination. Would love to see Maria Bakalova take home the award, but all the signs point to a win for Youn Yuh-Jung for Minari.

Best Supporting Actor

Nominees: Lakeith Stanfield – Judas and the Black Messiah, Paul Raci – Sound of Metal, Leslie Odom Jr – One Night in Miami, Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah, Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7.

Prediction: Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah

Personal Choice: Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah

I haven’t seen Judas and the Black Messiah, but it is a bit confusing how there are two supporting actors and no lead, but despite that I’m still going with Daniel Kaluuya as my pick and prediction as he is a great actor who deserves an Oscar for something. Paul Raci was great and I love Sacha, but I think this year goes to Daniel Kaluuya.

Best Actress

Nominees: Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman, Frances McDormand – Nomadland, Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman, Andra Day – The United States vs Billie Holliday, Viola Davies – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.

Prediction: Viola Davies- Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Personal Choice: Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman.

In previous years the big two acting categories have been pretty clear even before the ceremony, but this year Best Actress is wide open. Someone different has won at all the major awards. Personally, I think its a really tight contest between Frances McDormand and Viola Davies, but as Viola Davies doesn’t yet have a Best Leading Actress Oscar (only supporting), I think she could just take it home. But honestly, any of these nominees could take it home and my personal pick would be Carey Mulligan, as I think a large amount of the praise of Promising Young Woman comes from her performance.

Best Actor

Nominees: Steven Yeun – Minari, Gary Oldman – Mank, Anthony Hopkins – The Father, Chadwick Boseman- Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal.

Prediction: Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Personal Choice: Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal

I think the late Chadwick Boseman is the odds on favourite to take this home. Anthony Hopkins has an outside chance, but Boseman is the safe bet for me. I personally would love to see Riz Ahmed win, he is phenomenal in Sound of Metal and is one of my favourite actors, but hopefully his time will come at some point.

Best Director

Nominees: Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman, Chloe Zhao- Nomadland, Lee Isaac Cheung – Minari, David Fincher – Mank, Thomas Vinterberg – Another Round.

Prediction: Chloe Zhao- Nomadland

Personal Choice: David Fincher – Mank

Chloe Zhao seems the odds on favourite to become only the second female winner of this award. Would like to see David Fincher win, not particularly for Many, but just because he deserves an Oscar at some point for his career.

Best Picture

Nominees: The Trial of the Chicago 7, Sound of Metal, Promising Young Woman, Nomadland, Minari, Mank, Judas and the Black Messiah, The Father.

Prediction: Nomadland

Personal Choice: Sound of Metal

Nomadland has been picking up awards all over and looks like the really safe choice for this win. As an outside bet, The Father seems to have picked up some traction coming into awards season, but I would still stick with Nomadland as my pick. Sound of Metal was my personal favourite of the ones I’ve seen.

Missed nominations

Just to finish on anything that could have been nominated but wasn’t. I didn’t have as many of these as in previous years, but it would have been nice to see Soul nominated for Best Picture, to see some more animation love. Some recognition for Rose Glass’ electrifying horror Saint Maud would have been nice too, but would never happen from the Academy. Otherwise there wasn’t much else to complain about. Most of the best films I saw in 2020, were nominated at the 2020 Oscars and many of the 2021 nominees are still yet to be released in the UK, so its hard to judge. But here are my predictions, let’s see how I do.

Leave a comment