Cinema Review #94: The Invisible Man (2020)

I am including this as a Cinema Review as it is a 2020 release, although I watched it on DVD.

The Invisible Man stars Elisabeth Moss as Cecilia, a woman whose abusive ex-husband appears to be terrorising her from beyond the grave. It is directed by Leigh Whannell, previously an actor in Saw, then also a director of Insidious 3 and Upgrade.

There were plenty of things I enjoyed in this. Elisabeth Moss’ central performance is really good, she’s a really talented actress and helps keep you invested throughout. There are a few moments which did genuinely surprise me, which I liked and overall the film is very enjoyable. Not worthy of paying lots to rent, but it is an enjoyable film.

However, I’m not sure this film would stand up that well on rewatch and without going into spoilers, I found the ending to be a little anti-climactic.

Overall, I would recommend The Invisible Man for a one-off viewing, particularly near Halloween, but I can’t see this becoming a horror classic. 3 Stars.

Leave a comment