Cinema Review #79: Little Women (2019)

Little Women is a new adaptation of the popular book, this time written and directed by Greta Gerwig. It stars Saoirse Ronan, Emma Watson and Florence Pugh, along with support from Timothee Chalamet, Laura Dern and Meryl Streep.

There was a lot to like here. The performances were all really good, particularly from Florence Pugh, who is just fantastic. The costume and production design is all excellent really bringing to life the era. There are some nice moments too and I certainly enjoyed it more than I expected.

I felt it did drag a little at a few points, the film could have lost about 20 minutes and it wouldn’t have changed much. The main reason it doesn’t get more stars from me is that it just wasn’t as memorable as some of the other nominees.

I would recommend Little Women, particularly if you like costume dramas or just family dramas in general. There is plenty to enjoy here. 3.5 Stars.

Leave a comment