Cinema Review #54: Fast and Furious: Hobbs and Shaw (2019)

In Hobbs and Shaw, Hobbs (The Rock) and Shaw (Jason Statham), must team up to defeat a villain called Brixton (Idris Elba) and save Shaw’s sister (Vanessa Kirby). Hobbs and Shaw however, don’t like each other, but must put that aside to save the world.

Now, I have to admit I have never seen a Fast and Furious film before, so I went into this with little expectation other than for an enjoyable ride with action and excitement and two action stars doing what they do best.

While the film isn’t terrible, it certainly outstays its welcome, clocking in at 2hours and 17 minutes the film is too long by about half an hour to forty five minutes. The joke that the two of them don’t like each other gets old pretty fast, making me quite furious (I couldn’t resist) and without that the characters themselves are just The Rock and Jason Statham. The action itself is impressive at times, but by the end you’ve just had enough and it just becomes dull.

The humour in it is also pretty bad at times. I think I chuckled once or twice, but was largely unamused. Ryan Reynolds plays a particularly unfunny CIA agent, who appears in possibly the worst post-credit scene of all time (just leave when the credits start, I implore you). I don’t hate Ryan Reynolds, I think he just believes he’s Deadpool all the time because people like that and they didn’t like a lot of the films he’s been in, so he just acts like that all the time to get laughs, but here it fails miserably.

I like Vanessa Kirby and she gives a good performance with what she has to work with, its also good to see a cameo from Eddie Marsan. If the film was shorter it would have been better and maybe I would have been kinder, but as it is I wouldn’t really recommend it that much, if you’ve seen the trailer you’ve seen the best bits. 2.5 Stars.

Leave a comment